A simple “love you” can go a long way.

18 Jan

 

I called my mom this afternoon on her cell phone and my little sister Nicole picked up instead, saying that my mother was on the house phone and she couldn’t talk right now. Nicole and I chatted for a couple minutes but I had to rush off to go pick up Sam from work. I said something like, “ok, I’ll give you a call later and see if mom is available then. Bye.” and Nicole said, “alright I’ll let her know you called, love you, bye.”

I don’t know why it touched me so much. I think it’s because I’m always the one to say “love you” to my younger sisters and I feel like they always say it back because they feel that they have to. But today, when Nicole said it first, I felt like kissing a baby or petting a bunny. I know it’s not really a big deal and it’s actually pretty corny, but it meant a lot to me.

 

Leave a Reply

